Anglicans Online
Worldwide Anglicanism Anglican Dioceses and Parishes
Noted Recently News Archives Start Here The Anglican Communion Africa Australia BIPS Canada
Search, Archive Official Publications Anglicans Believe... In Full Communion England Europe Hong Kong Ireland
Resource directory   The Prayer Book Not in the Communion Japan New Zealand Nigeria Scotland
    The Bible B South Africa USA Wales WorldB
This page last updated 10 May 2019  
England by region

THE CHURCH OF ENGLAND is divided into 42 dioceses. 41 of them are in England; one is the Diocese of Sodor and Man; the Diocese in Europe covers other countries. If you aren't sure what diocese contains the city or parish you are seeking, try our England by Region page, or our search engine. You can also try the Church of England's own map of its dioceses with links to basic parish information.

See also these pages:


These links take you to the Anglicans Online page for the indicated diocese.

Diocese of Bath and Wells
Diocese of Birmingham
Diocese of Blackburn
Diocese of Bristol
Diocese of Canterbury
Diocese of Carlisle
Diocese of Chelmsford
Diocese of Chester
Diocese of Chichester
Diocese of Coventry
Diocese of Derby
Diocese of Durham
Diocese of Ely
Diocese in Europe
Diocese of Exeter
Diocese of Gloucester
Diocese of Guildford
Diocese of Hereford
Diocese of Leeds
Diocese of Leicester
Diocese of Lichfield
Diocese of Lincoln
Diocese of Liverpool
Diocese of London
Diocese of Manchester
Diocese of Newcastle
Diocese of Norwich
Diocese of Oxford
Diocese of Peterborough
Diocese of Portsmouth
Diocese of Rochester
Diocese of St Albans

Diocese of St Edmundsbury & Ipswich
Diocese of Salisbury
Diocese of Sheffield
Diocese of Sodor and Man
Diocese of Southwark
Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham
Diocese of Truro
Diocese of Winchester
Diocese of Worcester
Diocese of York

Royal Peculiars

A Royal Peculiar is a church that belongs directly to the monarch and not to any diocese or province. The concept originated in Anglo-Saxon times and developed as a result of the relationship between the Norman and Plantagenet kings and the English Church. We know of these Royal Peculiars:

St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle (The Queen's Free Chapel of St George in Windsor Castle)
The Chapel Royal, St James's Palace
The Queen's Chapel, St James's Palace
The Chapel Royal, Hampton Court
The Chapel of St John the Evangelist in the Tower of London
The Chapel of St Peter ad Vincula in the Tower of London
The Royal Chapel of All Saints, Windsor
The Queen's Chapel of the Savoy, London
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, London

The Chapel of St Edward, King and Martyr, Cambridge
The Palace of Holyrood
The Collegiate Church of St Peter, Westminster (Westminster Abbey)

This web site is independent. It is not official in any way. Our editorial staff is private and unaffiliated. Please contact about information on this page. ©2024 Society of Archbishop Justus