Anglicans Online
Worldwide Anglicanism Anglican Dioceses and Parishes
Noted Recently News Archives Start Here The Anglican Communion Africa Australia BIPS Canada
Search, Archive Official Publications Anglicans Believe... In Full Communion England Europe Hong Kong Ireland
Resource directory   The Prayer Book Not in the Communion Japan New Zealand Nigeria Scotland
    The Bible B South Africa USA Wales WorldB
This page last updated 23 March 2019  

New Zealand: Education

THE ANGLICAN CHURCH IN AOTEAROA, NEW ZEALAND, and POLYNESIA has three parts corresponding to the three parts of its name. It has 13 dioceses; seven of them are dioceses of the Pakeha (European) portion of the church, five of them are Hui Amorangi of the Maori portion of the church, which physically overlap the seven dioceses with different boundaries. The last part is the Diocese of Polynesia, which encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, and the Cook Islands.

Theological Colleges

In addition to this page, you'll find these areas in our New Zealand section:

Theological Colleges

Auckland, Auckland University School of Theology. Founded in 2003.
Auckland, The College of St John the Evangelist. The residential Theological College of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia. Incorporates three Anglican colleges: The College of the Southern Cross (for the Anglican Dioceses in New Zealand), The College of the Diocese of Polynesia (the theological college of the Diocese of Polynesia) and Te Whare Wananga o Te Rau Kahikatea (the theological college of Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa). The college premises are shared with Trinity Methodist Theological College.
Auckland, Toru. The Anglican Centre for Youth Ministry Studies based at The College of St John the Evangelist.
Christchurch, Theology House: Feeding Heart, Mind and Soul. Operated by the College House Institute of Theology. 'It has a Board of Trustees, which is chaired by the Anglican Bishop of Christchurch. Through its Board and historically the Institute has links to the Anglican Church, but there are no denominational restrictions on entry to courses, and Theology House is an independent body incorporated under the Charitable Trusts' Act 1957.'
Nelson, Bishopdale Theological College. 'Through its Board and historically the College has links to the Anglican Church and encourages lay and clergy formation development; however, working in association with Laidlaw College there are no denominational restrictions on entry to courses. Bishopdale Theological College Trust is an independent body incorporated under the Charitable Trusts' Act 1957.'
Te Whare Wananga o Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa: 'Tertiary institute of the bishopric of Aotearoa New Zealand'.
Wellington, Victoria University Anglican Chaplancy.


Anglican Schools Office: 'exists to support, resource, provide training opportunities and build fellowship between the Chaplains and Religious Education teachers working in its associated schools in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, and encourage interaction between the schools and the Church'.

Auckland, Corran School: 'Boutique in scale and global in outlook', primary through secondary.
Auckland, Dilworth School: 'An independent (private) full boarding school where all the boys attending are on a scholarship. Two campuses: Years 1-8 and 9-13.
Auckland, Diocesan School for Girls
Auckland, King's College: A boys independent secondary school (high school) for day and residential students.
Auckland, King's School: Preparatory school (grades 1-8) for boys.
Auckland, Kristin School: Junior, middle and senior school education for boys and girls. 'At Kristin, education is a partnership in which parents and school work closely together to ensure that our young people are able to be confident, caring and capable citizens of the 21st century.'
Cambridge, St Peter’s School: A co-educational boarding and day school, grades 9-13.
Christchurch, Cathedral Grammar School: A co-educational pre-school 'with seamless transition to separate boy and girl preparatory schools'.
Christchurch, Christ's College: A boys independent secondary school with strong house system 'in which boys are attached to one of four boarding or six dayboy houses, provides a pastoral focus and sense of identity for day-to-day life at school.'
Christchurch, Medbury School: A boys day and boarding school, grades 1-8.
Christchurch, St Margaret's College: A girls primary, middle, and senior school, day and boarding.
Christchurch, St Mark's School
Christchurch, St Michael's Church School: Boarding, co-educational, years 1-8.
Dundein, St Hilda's Collegiate School: For girls, day and boarding.
Hamilton, Southwell School: The largest preparatory boarding and day school for boys and girls in New Zealand.
Hamilton, St Paul’s Collegiate: For young men and women.
Hamilton, Waikato Diocesan School for Girls: Boarding and day school.
Hastings, St Matthew's Primary School: Parish school of St Matthew's Church (Waiapu)
Havelock North, Hereworth School: A preparatory school for boys aged 7-13 years. Boarding, day, and weekly options.
Havelock North, Woodford House: 'an integrated school for boarding and day girls from Years 7 to 13', 'closely affiliated to the Anglican Church and under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Waiapu'.
Marton, Huntley School: A boys preparatory school, boarding, years 5-8.
Marton, Nga Tawa School, Wellington Diocesan School for Girls: Years 7-13.
Masterton, Hadlow School: Preparatory (pre-school-grade 8) school.
Masterton, Rathkeale College: Secondary boarding school (grades 9-13) for boys. Spirited Rathkeale is a dedicated chaplaincy website for the college. 'Whatever their background or belief, our students are welcome to participate fully in all of the Anglican rites and festivals celebrated in our twice a week chapel services where our whole community is welcomed to worship.'
Masterton, St Matthew’s Collegiate School: Pre-school-13, both boarding and day.
Napier, Hukarere: Maori girls college, though welcomes all girls grades 9-13.
Pukehou, Hawke's Bay, Te Aute College: Affiliated with the Diocese of Waiapu, founded 1854.
South Canterbury, Waihi School: For boys.
Stratford, St Mary’s Diocesan School: Full or weekly boarding school (grades 9-13) for young women.
Timaru, Craighead Diocesan School: A 'state Integrated Anglican Girls' School for Daygirls and Boarders from Year 7 to 13.'
Wanganui, St George's School
Wanganui, Wanganui Collegiate School: A co-educational boarding and day school, years 9-13.
Wellington, Chilton Saint James School: A girls school, pre-school through year 13.
Wellington, (Hutt Valley), Hutt International Boys' School: residential, years 7-13.
Wellington, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School: pre-school co-educational; years 1-13, girls.
Wellington, St Mark's Church School: Offers pre-school co-education, years 1-8.
Wellington (Days Bay), Wellesley College: An independent boys school, years 1-8.

If you know of a web site that should be listed here and is not, please tell us.

This web site is independent. It is not official in any way. Our editorial staff is private and unaffiliated. Please contact about information on this page. ©2024 Society of Archbishop Justus